Marriage License Brochure

Mason County map

Download the Phamphlet

******************************************* INFORMATION ON OBTAINING YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE ******************************************* Issued by the Office of the MASON COUNTY CLERK PO BOX 77 HAVANA IL 62644 PHONE: 309/543-6661 ******************************************* Office Hours: Monday through Friday Time: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. ******************************************* OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE MASON COUNTY Where to apply Important information Fee Persons who may not marry Qualification for residents of Illinois Proof of age Qualification for non-residents Return of the license Marriage by judge Obtaining a certified copy of license Check list

WHERE TO APPLY:
    Summer R. Brown
    Mason County Clerk
    County Clerk’s Office
    100 N. Broadway
    Courthouse, Havana, IL 62644

IMPORTANT: Both parties must appear at the County Clerk's Office. Persons obtaining a marriage license in Mason County MAY NOT use the license in any other county. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to being used. The license is void 60 days after the effective date.

FEE: The fee for a marriage license is $40.00.

PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY: Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Illinois unless they are both over 50 years of age. However, a marriage between first cousins is not prohibited if either party submits a certificate signed by a physician stating that the party is permanently and irreversibly sterile.

QUALIFICATION FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS: In order to be married in Illinois without parental consent you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, BOTH PARENTS must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk's Office at the time you apply for the license. If it is not possible for your parents to sign in this office, it may be done before the County Clerk in you parent's County. If a parent is deceased, a death certificate or proof of guardianship, or court order waiving consent must be presented.

PROOF OF AGE: It will be necessary to show proof of age when applying for a mar- riage license. If you are 16 or 17, you must have an unaltered birth certificate. If you are 18 years of age or older, a driver's license is acceptable.

QUALIFICATION FOR NON-RESIDENTS: Non-residents CANNOT obtain a marriage license if said marriage would be void in their state.

RETURN OF THE LICENSE: The license must be returned to the County Clerk's Office by the officiant of the ceremony within 10 days after the date of marriage.

MARRIAGE BY JUDGE: If you wish to be married by a judge, you may make your own arrangements prior to the ceremony by calling 309/543-3634.

OBTAINING A CERTIFIED COPY: A certified copy of your marriage license may be obtained from the County Clerk's Office. Include the bride and groom's name and date of marriage. The fee is $5.00 for the first two copies.

THE FOLLOWING CHECKLIST IS FOR YOUR USE IN MAKING ALL NECESSARY NAME/ADDRESS CHANGES: __________ Voter Registration __________ Driver's License __________ Social Security Administration __________ Post Office __________ Insurance: Auto, Life, Health __________ Credit Cards __________ Banks and Financial Institutions __________ Doctors & Dentists __________ Publications __________ Schools & Churches __________ ________________________________ ******************************************* CONGRATULATIONS & BEST WISHES from the MASON COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICE *******************************************
 


Created 01-27-97 by William R Blessman & Robb Roper

Last updated 03-09-2015